2017 Swanson Award Nominations Are Open!

Posted by |

Now through June 2, you can nominate a SilverSneakers member who has improved their life through fitness.

2017 Swanson Award Nominations

Has SilverSneakers inspired you to lead an active life, set and reach a new fitness goal, or even transform the way you look and feel? Or is there someone you know who has encouraged you to join or keep participating in SilverSneakers? If so, we want to hear about it!

Now through June 2, you can submit nominations for the 2017 Richard L. Swanson Inspiration Award. The annual award honors a SilverSneakers member who has improved their life through fitness, while also inspiring and motivating others to improve their health and well-being. You can submit nominations at silversneakers.com/swansonaward.

Here’s some helpful information, and be sure to stay tuned for updates.

Who Is Eligible to Receive the Award?

Any participating SilverSneakers member.

How Is a Member Nominated?

If you are an active SilverSneakers member, you can nominate yourself or another inspiring member. Family, friends, or SilverSneakers instructors can also nominate a deserving member. From May 15 to June 2, you can submit nominations at silversneakers.com/swansonaward.

How Are Finalists and the Winner Selected?

The top 10 finalists will be selected by a SilverSneakers review committee. Their stories will be shared at silversneakers.com/swansonaward, where an open vote will determine the national award recipient. Online voting will begin on July 3, and the winner will be announced on July 17.

Subscribe to our newsletter
It's quick and easy. You could be one of the 13 million people who are eligible.
Already a member? Click to discover our 15,000+ participating locations.

Follow Us

Who Is Richard L. Swanson?

After surviving a heart attack at age 51, Richard L. Swanson pledged to improve his quality of life with regular physical activity. His unwavering commitment inspired his daughter, Mary Swanson, to establish SilverSneakers and this annual award.

Who Was the 2016 Winner?

The 2016 Swanson Award winner was Gay Rogers. Her journey began after Charcot disease claimed both of her legs from the knees down. Despite this, she was determined to walk again to keep up with her grandkids. She trained three times a week for three months to strengthen her upper body and thighs. On the day her prosthetics arrived, she was able to walk—and exercise on the elliptical machine.

Ready to Nominate Someone? Click Below!

2017 Swanson Award Nominations

You may already be eligible for the SilverSneakers benefit. CHECK YOUR  ELIGIBILITY